Choi Joon-yong reunites with Warnie and Kim Sun-hyung

The theme of the 2023-24 professional basketball All-Star Game is “Reunion.” Didrick Lawson (Wonju DB), Lee Jung-hyun and Jeon Sung-hyun (Sono, Goyang) will reunite in the All-Star Game. They made it to the playoffs last season by sharing a meal together at Goyang Day One. As the All-Star Game will take place at Goyang Sono Arena, it will be a more enjoyable moment for fans of the sport.

The KBL announced the draft list for the 2023-24 season. DB coach Kim Joo-sung and Changwon LG coach Cho Sang-hyun formed their own teams. Kim was the MVP of the 2007-08 season All-Star Game, and Cho was the MVP of the 2006-07 season. Up until last year, players who ranked first and second in the All-Star fan voting had been captains for a while, forming their own teams.

Kim and Cho decided to make Heo Woong (Busan KCC) and Heo Hoon (Suwon kt), who ranked first and second in the fan vote, as the team captains, and Kim picked Heo Woong first, and Cho embraced Heo Hoon after deciding the order of selection through games. Since then, Kim has selected the best five in the order of Lawson, Lee Jung-hyun, Jeon Sung-hyun, and Ha Yoon-ki (kt), while Cho has selected the best five in the order of Warney, Choi Joon-yong (KCC), Yang Hong-seok (LG), and Kim Jong-kyu (DB).

Manager Kim then selected Yoo Ki-sang (LG), Song Kyo-chang (KCC), Park Ji-hoon (Anyang Jeonggwanjang), Kim Nak-hyeon (Daegu Korea Gas Corporation), Lee Won-seok and Kim Si-rae (Seoul Samsung). Manager Cho selected Lee Woo-suk (Ulsan Hyundai Mobis), Lee Jae-do (LG), Lee Jung-hyun (Samsung), Moon Sung-gon (kt), Darryl Monroe (Junggwanjang), Lee Dae-heon (Korea Gas Corporation), and Kim Sun-hyung (SK).

It is notable that Lawson, Lee Jung-hyun, and Jeon Sung-hyun, who played together in Day One last season, and Warney, Choi Joon-yong and Kim Sun-hyung, who worked together in SK, were grouped together.

After the draft, head coach Kim said, “I chose Lawson because I thought it would be nice to have a good season thanks to his memories of the All-Star game,” adding, “I chose Heo Woong because I was glad to see him as a player. He has showmanship and is an outstanding player, so I think he will show good impressions and performances to his fans.” Coach Cho said, “I chose him considering his height. Choi Jun-yong is talented and has good performance, so he will play an important role in the game.”

Taking advantage of the most popular character among “KBL Friends,” coach Kim’s team was decided as the Cblemont team and coach Cho’s team was decided as the Gongjari team. SK coach Kim Jae-hwan and KCC coach Shin Myung-ho were selected as coaches for the Cblemont team, and KT coach Kim Young-hwan and Jeong Kwan-jang coach Choi Seung-tae were selected as coaches for the Gongjari team.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.