Rookie of the Year Award in professional baseball, “Dokho Sangbak.”

The KBO (Korea Baseball Organization) award ceremony will be held on the 27th to confirm the players and rookies who played the best on the 2023 Korean professional baseball stage.

The MVP is expected to be Eric Peddy (NC Dinos), who has surpassed 20 wins and 200 strikeouts in a season for the first time in 37 years since Sun Dong-yeol, and attention is being paid to the winner of the Rookie of the Year award, which is in a two-way race. The main characters are Hanwha Eagles’ “Baby Eagle” Moon Dong-joo and KIA Tigers’ “Baby Tiger” Yoon Young-chul.

Fire bowler Moon Dong-ju, who sprays a fastball with a maximum speed of 160.1 km/h, played in 23 games this year and was responsible for 118 and 2/3 innings, posting an 8 wins, 8 losses and 3.72 ERA. Although he did not meet the prescribed innings (144 innings), he ranked second in the most wins and second in the most innings in the team.

If Moon Dong-ju receives the Rookie of the Year award, Hanwha’s team will produce the Rookie of the Year award winner for the first time in 17 years since Ryu Hyun-jin in 2006. Hanwha (including Binggrae) has received the Rookie of the Year award three times, from Junghoon Lee in 1987 to Kim Tae-kyun in 2001, and Ryu Hyun-jin.

Yoon Young-chul also performed similarly to Moon Dong-ju. In 25 games, he played with 8 wins, 7 losses and a 4.04 ERA in 122 2/3 innings. Yoon Young-chul also failed to meet the regular innings, but tied for third in the most wins and third in the most innings in the team. KIA’s latest rookie award was won by Lee Eui-ri in 2021. Two years ago, Lee Eui-ri won the Rookie of the Year award as a former KIA (including Haitai) for the first time in 36 years since Lee Soon-cheol in 1985.

It can be seen that Moon Dong-ju is ahead of the objective performance. Moon Dong-ju was superior to Yoon Young-chul, who had 1.40 and 0.263 on-base percentage (1.31) and hit percentage (0.249) per inning, respectively. However, Moon Dong-ju is a used rookie who debuted last year and started in earnest this year, and Yoon Young-chul is a pure rookie who debuted this year.

Pedi, who is certain to be the MVP, was responsible for 180 1/3 innings in 30 games this year, posting 20 wins, 6 losses with a 2.00 ERA and 209 strikeouts. He achieved “triple crown” by winning three titles, including multiple wins, ERA, and strikeouts. Pitcher Triple Crown is the fourth pitcher after Haitai Sun Dong-yeol (1986, 1989, 1990 and 1991), Hanwha Ryu Hyun-jin (2006) and KIA Yoon Seok-min (2011).

If Pedi wins the MVP, NC will produce the MVP for the first time in eight years since Eric Thames in 2015. Pedi, who returned to the U.S. after the playoff, entered the country on the 26th to attend the award ceremony.


One thought on “Rookie of the Year Award in professional baseball, “Dokho Sangbak.”

  1. I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can not to find your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly let me know in order that I may subscribe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *